Rx Take-Back event October 2018

​​CoPALM Committees​


​Alcohol Committee

The Alcohol Committee's goal is to educate and advocate for alcohol-related policies that will improve quality of life for the communities of SPA-4. The Alcohol Committee works with local elected officials, community members, and partner coalitions to develop strategies to promote these policies into practice and local legislation.


The Alcohol Committee's current projects include:


The Alcohol Committee meets monthly on the first Thursday from 2:00pm-3:30pm via conference call.


For more information,

Please contact the Alcohol Committee Co-chairs:

Isaac Hong - ihong@kyccla.org

Gilbert Mora - gmora@bhs-inc.org​

4th of July Table Top Campaign (TTC)

Policy advocacy meeting with elected officials

​​​​​​​Marijuana Committee

The Marijuana Committee's goal is to educate and inform community members on any topics around marijuana, such as the current laws and regulations that affect SPA-4 communities.


The Marijuana Committee's projects include:



For more information,

Please contact the Marijuana Committee Co-chairs: 

Adelene Bertha - adeleneb@socialmodel.com

Jenny Duran - jduran@bhs-inc.org

Community outreach and education

Prescription Drugs (Rx) Committee
The Rx Committee’s goal is to increase public awareness of:

  • the risks of prescription drug abuse, 
  • safe prescription drug use/storage/disposal, 
  • the resources available to the community


The Rx Committee’s year-long projects include:

  • the Rx Resolution for the city of Los Angeles, 
  • presentations and engagement with the elder population in SPA-4 communities
  • support and organize prescription drug take-back events in October and April


The Rx Committee meets monthly on the first Wednesday from 2:30pm-4:30pm in Social Model's CCERP Office (2118 E First St. Los Angeles, CA 90033) in the Boyle Heights area.​ 

For more information,

Please contact the Rx Committee Co-chairs:

Evelyn Balderas - ebalderas@kyccla.org

Socorro Chacon - socorroc@socialmodel.com

Rx Take-Back event April 2019